The Tonopah Historic Mining Park is located on the site of the original mining claims that started the rush to Tonopah, making it “Queen of the Silver Camps”. Jim and Belle Butler’s strike in 1900 brought the United States into the 20th Century, and many of the mining processing techniques developed during that time are still being used today.
The park encompasses portions of four of the original major mining companies and covers more than 100 acres overlooking the city. This rich history is brought to life through preserved and restored equipment and buildings, historic exhibits, video presentations (in our on-site theater), and a self-guided tour.
All of the buildings located on the property are open for our visitors to enjoy. You can experience for yourself how it was to work in a turn-of-the-century mine. The grounds are constantly changing. New exhibits are added frequently and restoration of existing buildings is ongoing.
The underground tunnel features a walk down a mine tunnel that intersects one of the original discovery stopes. Named the Burro Tunnel, the “Underground Adventure” is not for the faint of heart! At the end of the tunnel, visitors are able to step into a steel viewing cage and look down the 500′ deep stope.
The Visitor Center has a bookstore, displays of historic mining equipment and a small movie theater. The black light mineral display has just been greatly expanded and now features short-wave ultraviolet lights which enhance the colors of the display.